Tags

,

I have finally figured ( I think) why these pages ( and my writing self) have been blank for so long.  It’s not like there is any shortage of things that drive me crazy in the world or a lack of a daily dose of stupid in the news.  November 8th, 2016 anyone?

The summer of 2016 is the first summer in about a dozen years that I have not toiled and sweated and ached in training for a marathon.

No worrying about mileage, shoes, hotels, travel, work, weather, tapering, upping my mileage, lowering my mileage or long runs for me.  And that’s my writer’s rub.

I’m a retired marathoner now.  No more 10 or 12 or 14 mile runs for me.  I’ve settled in nicely at 3 to 4 miles every time I lace ’em up and go out.

I’m rarely on the road for more than an hour.  The long runs of yore provided time and distance to think and let my mind go to happy, restful and creative places.

Now when I run I barely have time to get past the ” Which bills can I afford to pay this week?” mile point when I round the corner and I’m back home.

For the sake of my sanity and creativity it appears that I need to go long.  As the song says and I’m paraphrasing here, ” Stealin’ ( Runnin’) back to my same old used to be.”

Happy Labor Day to the people who actually work for a living.  You know who you are.

 

