Tags

,

Thinking today about what makes us and me put ourselves through 26 miles at one time.  My brain offers this:

It’s an adventure and as we age and get older we don’t get the chance to have adventures anymore.

Scout camp – that was an adventure, family vacations at the shore, going to Uncle Louie’s for Thanksgiving, an adventure for kids and maybe not so much for adults.  All bona fide adventures when you look a them through your young eyes.

It’s a personal triumph for you your heart, your body, your will and spirit.  A chance to say, ” I did this” and something that no one can ever take away.

Years back I worked in a scenery shop for a while and Friday afternoons were always special.  Around 4 o’clock work stopped, beer appeared and we had what the boss called ” Admiration Time” wherein we sat down, relaxed and admired all that we had accomplished and built during the week.

Sometime on Sunday afternoon and into Monday and for as long as I can stand myself I’ll be in admiration mode for that something  I accomplished on Sunday morning.

On Monday morning at 30th Street Station I know I’ll see dozens of people wearing their marathon shirts and maybe a few even still sporting their medals.

And it’s special because we’ll all share that common bond of what we did on Sunday.  Even though I probably won’t know any of those fellow marathoners a simple nod is all it takes to say, ” Yeah, we did this didn’t we”?

Before I write the rest of this pat myself on the back post script for Sunday I better make sure that I get out and do what needs to be done.

It’s something that I’m looking forward to in 3 days, 9 hours and 23 minutes and counting.

It used to be June when all this started and now what looked like a speck on the horizon is only 3 days, 9 hours and 22 minutes away.

3 days, 9 hours, 21 minutes.

