Tags

, , ,

For all of you who were getting a little misty about the coming change of seasons Summer would like me to remind you that it ain’t over till it’s over as evidenced by this afternoon’s temps in either the high 80’s or low 90’s.

Headed out later in the day than I had planned but still firmly had my gaze fixed on 10 miles.  Crossing into double digit mileage for the first time this summer and had the temps been in the 70’s I would have knocked ten out of the park.  I had eight miles covered easily but the last two are what we say separate the sheep from the goats.

Ten miles turned into a slog that left me soaking wet and not from any passing rainstorm.  Tomorrow is most definitely a day off as I marshall my forces for eleven next Monday on Labor Day.

Summer sez – Autumn?  Not so fast bub.  In the meantime I’d like to deposit ten miles in the marathon bank.  Summer miles mean November smiles.  Yeah, it’s a simple phrase but if I’m smiling at 22 then today was definitely worth it.

