Tags

, , ,

I’ve been told and have come to believe that the workout you did ten days ago is paying off in today’s run.

Frankly, I can’t remember the length of any run that far back without checking my running notebook but I do know the ten day rule has a great calming influence.  It helps me not to worry about the short term.  Even a bad day on the run is better than no day on the run.  Bad days pay off.  Every time you run it’s a win.

So if you drop time on a run tomorrow it’s because you put in the work a week and a half ago.  And today’s run will be money in the bank.  You collect the interest in only ten days.

Running and is always about what is to be and what can be.  That’s the great secret we runners have.

My training for the November 22nd Philadelphia Marathon shuts down by November 12th.  I’m not going to gain anything by running in those last ten days.  Those days are for recovery and obsessively checking the ten day forecast every five minutes.

There might be a correlation between my ten day rule and the ten day forecast but I can’t quite make the connection especially since I try to look for humor in almost everything.  There’s no happiness connected in shivering in corral or standing on a starting line on a cold November morning with 30,000 other people.

But maybe there should be.  Running a marathon is hard but that doesn’t mean it should be a chore or something that elicits dread.  I mean you signed up for it, you spent a lot of money to enter, maybe bought a plane ticket and a couple of hotel nights.  Might as well enjoy yourself.

Practice being happy during your run today. Look at the world with ten day eyes and a ten day heart.  Make happiness a part of your run.

I figure in Philadelphia that the cooler weather will be worth a mile in my pocket and the crowd support will add another mile I don’t have to worry about.  Running with 30,00 people all going in the same direction with the same goal will be a boost that lifts me through another mile or two.

If I keep adding positive thoughts worth miles then I’ve reduced the 26.2 miles by a factor I can’t calculate.

At some point my running happiness turns to dread and despair ( I know, I’ve been there especially looking for the 20 mile turnaround point) during the run but that’s when I hope I can remember to rely on the happiness reserves I’ve stored up in August, September and October.  You (and me) just have to remember that we have them.

Yogi Berra said baseball is 90% mental and the other half is physical.  Trust me, his numbers add up when it comes to running a marathon especially if you can keep 90% happy on the run.

He is also rumored to have said ” You give 100% in the first half of the game ( or marathon) and if that isn’t enough in the second half you give what’s left.”  I get it, makes sense to me.

Run happy today, run happy tomorrow, take a day off but stay happy.  You’ll be happier in ten days.  At mile 24 I’ll need all the happiness I can get.

You could look it up.

