Tags

,

Watched the Fortieth Anniversary show last night and as the clock crept towards 11pm I kept thinking that I need to go to sleep.  I stayed up and I’m glad that I did.

I remember when staying in on Saturday nights was the hip thing to do because of Saturday Night Live.  Brought back some good memories and some not so good ones too.

I wasn’t expecting the latter but that comes with reminiscing I suppose. You always take a chance that when you look back a door opens whether you want it to or not.

And with me being a stagehand for a living I was very pleased to see the tribute to the crew during the Wayne’s World segment.

The funniest joke hit the screen around 11:15 and it’s got a 40 year old punchline:

Bill Murray said, “Generalissimo Francisco Franco is still dead.”

The joke as they say has legs.  You really did have to be there forty years ago.

