Tags

, , , , ,

There will be a number of celebrities running 26.2 miles tomorrow in New York.  On the surface that’s really nothing new.  Marathons have often been run by celebrities in the past.  Most seem to be running for a special cause or a charity and I applaud their altruism.

Maybe some have attempted a marathon as a career move.  Bad move.

Because the Marathon, any marathon doesn’t care if you are rich or famous or poor.  Your Oscars and your Grammy can’t help you at mile 22.  You’re on your own.

The Marathon only cares about two things: The Starting and the Finish Line.  How you get from Point A to Point B is your business.

The Marathon is a great equalizer. Once the gun goes off we’re all in this together until we pass under the clock 26.2 miles later.

A Marathon is my personal Game Seven, my Super Bowl and my Olympics.

It’s not often that ordinary people with sometimes less than ordinary athletic running skills have an opportunity to feel like a champ.  That’s what make the marathon such a great sporting event.

Where are you going to find screaming and enthusiastic crowds cheering for people they don’t know? It’s everyman for him or herself but even though it’s you against the street, the miles, the clock and yourself it’s all of us running together.

Running might be an individual and solitary sport but when you pack 30,000 of us into a corral and say ” On Your Mark, Get Set, Go” something magical happens.

It’s a team sport on the biggest and baddest team you ever will see or be on.  We all root for each other and even if the winners are on their way home when you are coming up on 13 miles it’s ok.  It’s great.

I don’t know what the elites really think about the rest of us plodding and jogging along behind them.  On a marathon morning I feel like an elite runner.

And hours after I have crossed the start and the finish line comes into view I know that I am an elite runner.  I’ve run a marathon and I can’t think of any place I would rather be.

