These are heady days in Paris.  

In June was the 70th anniversary of the D-Day landings.  Last week was the 100th anniversary of the mobilization for WWI and later this month will be the 70th anniversary of the liberation of Paris.

The history is alive and all around.  I saw a photo at an exhibition of a street celebration as paris was being liberating in August, 1944.  There is a section of the city with a huge statue of lion.  I was there and in the photo from August, 1944 there are people rejoicing in the street around the statue and climbing on top of it.7455531118_e3d379f355  And I stood there in that exact spot. ( OK, my photo editing and placement is pretty lousy – I admit ).  The sense of what happened hundreds of years ago and what happened only 70 or 100 years ago is palpable.  That’s one of the things I’ll remember most about my trip.

 

