Tags

, , ,

    Just finished a nice short 3 and half mile jaunt in the drizzle and eventual rain.  After spending a week in Las Vegas where the mercury hit 100 every day I was there it’s nice to have moderate weather with honest to goodness humidity.  It’s probably going to rain for the rest of the day but I don’t mind – I got my work in.

    Regarding Lefty and Dr. Meniscus the verdict is in – surgery during the first week of August after which I will be resting comfortably with my ” toes above my nose” for a week.  No, that doesn’t mean that I need to stand on my head.  It’s now certain that I will miss the Philadelphia marathon in November but I’m not ruling out being able to run the half.  I mean really, here’s my plan.

     I get in great shape prior to getting Lefty fixed, fixed as in repaired and not fixed as in when you get your dog fixed. I can run in a straight line so continuing to train is not really a problem. If I was an NBA point guard the scouting report would read as follows,         ” Can’t go to his left or to his right.”  So what else is new ?  Tell me something I don’t already know.

     I lay off for August, come back slowly in September, stronger in October and I arrive in Philly the week before Thanksgiving to run 13.1.  Maybe even run the Boston half in October too.  Hmm- that’s a big maybe. I did run it last year and had a great time.  

    All things being equal I think the plan works.  All things being equal I’m a runner so normal human non runner logic does not apply.  Being a runner it makes perfect sense to me.  You always have to have a plan.

 

 

    

    

 

