Tags

,

“You don’t like Starbucks?” she asked.

“Nope” was the reply.

” I just want go on record as saying that I’m compromising here by going to your place..

He said” I appreciate that, looks like we have our first disagreement.  We could sweep it under the rug, let it fester and then it could be a major source of resentment in a couple of years OR we could talk about it.  I used to talk all the time but after a while I stopped because, well, just because…”

She furrowed her brow as she said,” You stopped talking because while you were talking, the other person wasn’t listening and so at some point you just said screw it.”

He knew that she was right on the money and said ” In a word or two I would have to say that is correct. You seem to have experience in the talking, not talking department. ”

She sighed, ” Yeah, it’s something I wish that I had never learned.  I used to say that I learned how not to talk from my ex.  But there is plenty of blame to go around.  We were really happy once.  I don’t know where it went wrong.  Probably with the first unconscious sweep under the rug. I liked your isthmus joke, do you use that line a lot with women?”

Now it was his turn to sigh and smile.

