Tags

, , ,

I dug up an old cd a few days ago.  It was the first Loggins and Messina effort called ” Sittin’ In.”  It still sounds as fresh as the first time I heard the record back in Storrs, Connecticut sometime in the early 1970’s.

Those were heady days for all of us, Kenny and Jim included I’m sure.  I knew every word to every song but one line now haunts me as though I had never heard it before.  It goes like this, ” As our days disappeared all too soon.”

It’s from a simple child’s song that Kenny wrote called ” House at Pooh Corner.”  Back when my days went on forever with a girl who had long brown hair, a flashing smile, a yellow VW and a red guitar.

And so as I find myself getting older every day I am struck by days disappearing too soon.   When did this happen?  Back then days went on forever.

Days disappearing all too soon is a sweet child’s way to lament that there are just not enough hours in the day to do everything that they want to do. Now it has a very different meaning.   I’m reminded of a book that was a favorite of my kids when they were young – It was called ” The Days Are Just Packed.”  I need to figure this out.

 

