Tags

,

The man who broke the 4 minute mile barrier in 1954 is 85 years old today.

It was long considered an unattainable goal.  People thought that if a runner did break 4 minutes that his heart would burst.   Roger was a medical student at the time, not a professional runner.

His journey through to and through the a sub 4 minute mile is in a wonderful book called ” The Perfect Mile.”

After the 4 minute mark was broken the record rapidly tumbled as though a great wall had been breached and runners began sprinting through the opening.

My fastest mile ever is – I can’t recall.  I think I got under 6 minutes once or twice in high school.  Some people are born with speed and others are not.  I’m not in a hurry to complete the mile run anymore.  And I’m just fine with that.

