Dads are generally people of few words.  My father was especially like that and as a Dad I understand.  One piece of advice he did offer was offered in my eighth grade graduation remembrance book. ” Walk Tall and Think Big ”  he wrote.  I have carried those words with me since the spring of 1963.  The good stuff stays with you sometimes despite the load of bad and awful things we often only remember.

My advice to my children has always been ” On Time is Late” which is pretty self-explanatory.  I hope someday they recall those words with the same warmth and fondness I have regarding my father’s words.

My dad also said a lot of other things which are not necessary to repeat and which need to stay buried right where they are.  Nobody is perfect, least of all Dads.  But we try.

