At least that’s what Brian Wilson said and since he wrote the song he should know.  He said that he wrote ” Surfer Girl” while riding in his car.  Pretty amazing I think.  I always liked that song but never realized until a few years ago when I started to learn it it that it goes into a key change for the last verse and chorus.  It modulates from the Key of D to E flat.

For most of the garage musicians and folkies that I know a key like E flat or anything besides, G, C or D makes them crazy.  And here was Brian Wilson way back in 1962 or 1963 writing songs with key changes built in.  I always knew I like that tune and that it was pleasing to my ear, I just didn’t know exactly why.

There is another song Wilson wrote based on a conversation with his girlfriend.  He was upset about something and she simply said:

