This falls into the ” Plan a graceful exit before they ask you to leave” school of life and business.

For a few years in the 1980’s and into the 90’s I was working every big show and special event that hit town.  I was the go to guy until I got tired of it and started stage managing on the road.  Well, those days are over but that’s another story.

A few years after I gave up working in town a friend asked if I would be interested in working a load out at a concert downtown.  The act was KC and the Sunshine band.  Don’t snicker, KC had a rockin’ horn section and a gig that pays is a good gig.

I toddled on down to the stage which was sprawled across North Queen Street and found the backstage entrance being guarded by one of Lancaster’s finest.  The officer whom I did not know wondered who I was and what I was doing there despite the fact that I had work gloves, steel toes and a crescent wrench.

I couldn’t convince the officer that my presence had been requested since I did not have a backstage pass. Finally, we were able to catch the attention of a friend and fellow stagehand who vouched for me and I was admitted to join the rest of the crew.

As you can imagine the story spread quickly and since then I have worn the title of ” I used to be somebody” with pride.  I’ve been assured that one day I will again be somebody but I’m not so sure that’s what I want.

I’m in a pretty good groove right now, I’ve been in charge of a lot of projects and frankly I kind of enjoy not being somebody.  I took that class.  When I leave work I leave work and that’s that.

I’m reading a book titled ” Backstage at the Lincoln Assassination,” ” The Untold Story of the Actors and Stagehands at Ford’s Theatre.”  A review to follow at some point maybe.

One of the actresses is quoted as saying this about acting and I think it works today.  “It is a lottery, this profession of ours, in which the prizes are, after all, not very considerable.”  Not very considerable indeed especially when you used to be somebody.

